Three most iconic scenes in Pulp Fiction

I recently revisited Pulp Fiction, and it is always refreshing to re-watch movies and have them hold up even better than you remember. Pulp Fiction is a true classic, that, while not for everyone, should be appreciated buy film lovers for the combination of memorable visuals, incredible dialogue, unique story telling, and just all around awesomeness. I thought about putting together a review of the film, but it seems to me the internet does not need another Pulp Fiction review. I will say that I like most Tarantino movies, but am not a super fan. Pulp Fiction for me is his best film by far. It came out when I was late in High School, but I didn’t see it till  I got to college, which really was the perfect time for me and a movie like this to get along.

Despite opting out of a review however, I did want to talk about it. So, my question to you is, what is the most iconic scene in this movie that is filled with iconic scenes? I have chose three, but if I missed an obvious one, chime in and let me know.

Close call: the ball gags

Pulp Fiction Ball gag

The moment when Zed get called in, this movie takes a turn from the insane to the down right bizarre. There is so much about this scene, and the moments leading up to it and immediately following, that are intense and memorable as well, but seeing these two movie stars bound and gagged this way won’t soon be forgotten. This is also a weirdly dark twist for the movie, which is pretty dark to begin with, and I am sure I am not the only one growing up in the 90’s (pre-google) to wonder what the hell a gimp was!

Runner Up: The Dance Scene

Pulp Fiction Dancing

Pulp Fiction has been widely credited with resurrecting John Travolta’s career. So, of course he needed to dance. But in Pulp Fiction, it is so much more than a dance of course, it is the Jack Rabbit Slim’s World Famous Twist Contest. A high Vincent Vega (Travolta) and a hard rollin’ Mia Wallace (Uma Thurman) mix it up in what is not really sensual, certainly not tradition, but definitely captivating couple of minutes. They don’t cut a rug, the more just smooth out the edges and smoothly burn themselves into your movie memory.

And the winner is: Say What Again!

Pulp Fiction say What

All through college we quoted Ezekiel 25:17. This was the movie that introduced me to the great Samuel L. But before that amazing monologue is this great scene. “English mutha-f’er do you speak it!” Jules (Jackson) is interrogating Brad, and he is so intimidating that the only thing his victim can say is ‘What?!?!’. It is so well acted, so iconic, that for me this scene defines this movie, or at least it is the scene I most think of most when talking about Pulp Fiction.

So how about you? What is your favorite or most iconic scene in Pulp Fiction? Comment below and let’s keep the conversation going!

Leave a Reply

